Thread is locked.

Need Recon tips

DorkyGamerSarah
Enlisted: 2012-06-07
2012-06-07 19:45
I started playing BF3 yesterday so I am new to the game. I tried to play with the recon class for a few minutes and I have a really hard time sniping people... To be honest I only made one kill from 179 meters by accident because I was sneezing. Can anyone just give me tips how I can snipe with skills
sYgmacht
DE Enlisted: 2012-02-04
2012-06-07 19:50 , edited 2012-06-07 19:50 by sYgmacht
On large vehicle maps such as Caspian Border, Operation Firestorm, Gulf of Oman, Wake Island, or Kharg Island, if requested, make sure to always use a SOFLAM and spot targets manually from time to time, but not always and spend most of the time capturing.

Don't camp and be a mobile sniper constantly.

If playing on any other map, use MAV or T-UGS appropriately.

Place Radio Bacons under ceilings, where soldiers can quickly deploy instead of wasting 20 minutes in the air with a parachute.
KINGSLY51595
US Enlisted: 2011-11-25
2012-06-07 19:58
If you're using a semi-auto, close the range, as the damage drops pretty quickly at long ranges. If you get close and double tap your enemy, that's a kill.

For bolt action rifles (my choice is a nice L96), unlock and use the straight-pull bolt. It allows for much faster shooting, close to the speed of semis.

Don't use flashlights, they just get you killed quicker. Suppressors can be used, but they will play merry hell with the damage and bullet drop tables, so take it or leave it, and don't switch. My favorite is a laser sight, which can blind enemies at any range, and increases accuracy.

NEVER USE A BIPOD UNLESS YOU'RE CAMPING IN YOUR SPAWN.

If you're out of spawn, you need to keep moving at all times, or the enemy will see your location via killcam, and nail you with one of the following:
1) Another, probably more skilled sniper.
2) A ninja (sniper like me who loves using a knife on people's necks)
3) Mortars
4) Helicopters