Thread is locked.

Ask DICE: Questions for Alan Kertz

SlyOkapi
SE Enlisted: 2013-07-16
2014-02-03 17:08 , edited 2014-02-03 17:34 by EA_Dragotha
As part of the Player Appreciation Month [blogs.battlefield.com] we present the first “Ask DICE”, where you have the chance to ask Battlefield 4 developers questions about their specific fields of expertise. First up is Lead Core Gameplay Designer Alan Kertz. This is how Alan describes his role here at DICE:

ALAN KERTZ: “As Lead Core Gameplay Designer on Battlefield 4 it’s my job to work with the team that designs the weapons, vehicles, gadgets, and soldiers in creating a balanced, fun, and authentic-feeling Battlefield. I’ve been a designer on Battlefield for 8 years now, starting with Battlefield 2142 and including both Bad Company games, Battlefield 1943, and Battlefield 3. I’m looking forward to your questions about how we balance Battlefield!”

Post your questions on gameplay balancing in this forum thread for a chance to get them answered by Alan Kertz. Remember that relevant, clear, and concise questions have a better chance of getting answered!

Please remember that this thread is for questions rather than commentary. Posts that do not contain a relevant question will be removed, please ensure your comments are in line with the Guide to Forum Use rules. [battlelog.battlefield.com]

The answers will be published by the end of this week. Thank you!
MitchDoss_UK
GB Enlisted: 2013-09-30
2014-02-03 17:19
Is there any chance that the TV Missiles can be a 1 hit kill against jet's i think its fine the way it works on helis but jets it's too weak
Youtube - https://www.youtube.com/user/MitchDossHD
Fus_Ro_DOMO
Enlisted: 2011-10-27
Why are there so many useless gadgets?

Mortar
Ucav
almost all XM25 implementations
Everything smoke related
JNes12
US Enlisted: 2012-05-02
Why were smart weapons added to the game? Do you believe they take the skill out of the battle?
Fersis
AR Enlisted: 2011-12-19
Hi!